Eaton Bishop Village Hall
Hereford , Herefordshire
About this venue
Eaton Bishop Village Hall is in the heart of the village, a short drive from Hereford. The hall is available for hire for functions and activities. With modern facilities, good parking and proximity to the delightful Church of St. Michael, the hall provides a stunning venue for all events.
The hall was purpose-built in 1928 for and by the community of Eaton Bishop. The site was donated by Sir Charles Pulley, recognised for his generosity by the naming of Pulley Avenue. Money was raised initially with the usual rounds of dances, whist drives and jumble sales but only £487 had been accumulated before the villagers had exhausted their enthusiasm. George LLoyd, Sir Charles' groom, had an idea which made it happen: the villagers would lend money to the project, interest-free. Immediately small loans rolled in, varying from 5 shillings to £10 and the £590.17.0 (pounds, shillings and pence for those born in the 21st century) building cost was collected.